Texas Renaissance Festival

November 28, 2009

Yesterday Julia and I spent the day at the Texas Renaissance Festival (who should get someone who knows what they’re doing to redesign their web site. Although I guess by world wide web standards it is pretty medieval.) It was a slightly late anniversary celebration for us. We had a great time until we tried to leave and found out a wreck had traffic completely stopped. It was three and a half hours before we were able to leave the parking lot.

We enjoyed the falconry exhibition and the longbow shoot and the jousting and the music and, well, pretty much everything. Although the lady who looked to be about my age wearing the barbarian princess costume was a little too much.

Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll ever get Julia to agree to let me get the $3500 rapier I got to look at:

“Why couldn’t you get a cheaper one?”

“Those are just for looks; this is a real sword with perfect balance and razor sharp.”

“And what would you need a real sword for?”

“Well, you never know. What if I got caught in a time travel accident and ended up in the middle ages?”

I could tell she wasn’t going to go along with it.

6 Responses to “Texas Renaissance Festival”

  1. Annette Says:

    My boys have tried to convince me that they “need” real swords before, too. They didn’t win the argument, either!

  2. Rachelle Says:

    LOL!

  3. Shellie Says:

    Gee, what a spoil sport.

  4. Amy Crane Says:

    A house full of boys is definitely a good reason to NOT have a real sword (unless you don’t care if everyone stays alive.) Stand firm, Julia!

    • ross Says:

      I only paid about $1000 for mine. But, then again, I have three (not all that pricy). If you keep good care of it, a sword holds its value better than a car or a computer (and lately, better than a house as well). It’s an investment!

      That’s as good as I can do for you, Curtis. Good luck. 🙂


Leave a Reply

