Names part 3

May 16, 2009

After I posted about the boys’s names, Julia told me she was just thinking of names for boys one day and “Daniel James” popped into her head, and she liked it. So that’s her version of how Daniel got his name.

So after three consecutive boys, I finally got to pick a girl’s name.

The day-dawn is breaking, the world is awaking,
The clouds of night’s darkness are fleeing away.
The world-wide commotion, from ocean to ocean,
Now heralds the time of the beautiful day.

I’ve always liked the idea behind this hymn, that we’re preparing for the dawn of the millennium. So I picked Aurora, the name of the Roman goddess of dawn, as the name of our next daughter. Since this is a dawn we should look forward to, I added Amanda, which is Latin for “ought to be loved” or “worthy of being loved.” (Also, one of my great-great grandmothers was named Amanda.) Julia thought “Aurora Amanda” was too weird, so I changed it to “Amanda Aurora” and she agreed to that.

My hope is that when Amanda thinks of her name, she will remember that she was held back to be born in the last days to help prepare the world for Christ’s second coming.

3 Responses to “Names part 3”

  1. Amy Crane Says:

    Another GREAT name! I love Amanda. I never knew the whole story behind the name–I like it even better now.

  2. Shellie Says:

    I think they’re great names.

  3. Rachelle Says:

    What a great story!


Leave a Reply

