Names part 2

April 25, 2009

I wrote a complete post on this earlier this week, but when I pressed the publish button it all vanished except the first line. I hope it works this time.

So now we come to boys. As I said in the earlier post, Julia picked the boys’ names.

She wanted our first boy’s name to be similar to mine, but not identical, so she picked Christopher Gerald. (Gerald is my middle name and my father’s name.) Christopher means “bearing Christ” so that seemed like a good name to me. Gerald means “sword wielder.”

I don’t remember why Julia picked Daniel for our second boy. I think this is when I started suggesting “Moroni” for the middle name, but Julia would never agree to that. Instead she chose “James”. Daniel means “God is my judge” and James is an anglicized version of Jacob, who was also named Israel. So we could stretch things a little and say “Daniel James” means “God is my judge, oh Israel.”

Samuel means “name of God” or “God has heard.” I know I tried to get Julia to use Moroni for Sam’s middle name. In the end, we went with Conrad because it was a family name on both sides: it’s my brother Hans’ middle name and Conrad Kleinman was one of the original pioneers to reach the Salt Lake valley, while Conrad Mund was the first one in Julia’s family to come to Texas from Germany. Conrad means “wise in counsel.”

2 Responses to “Names part 2”

  1. Daniel Says:

    Daniel James. Coolest name ever. Woot woot.

  2. mom Says:

    I agree with Julia, go with family names, it’s safer. No kid lives up to the name Jesus, and all the Nephis I’ve met are little monsters, I bet Moroni would be the same thing…


Leave a Reply

