greed for money vs. greed for power

April 14, 2009

Followed this link on Instapundit and thought I’d share it: Don’t Be Preedy. It asks why we have a word for wanting lots of money and don’t have one for wanting lots of power, and answers that people who seek power tend to kill those who don’t agree with them. It’s very well written.

3 Responses to “greed for money vs. greed for power”

  1. Amy Says:

    I like the dog-catcher example. I had a rather ugly run-in with a preedy policeman a few months back who gave me a ticket for running a stop sign. Apparently, the front of my car was a few inches in front of the stop sign when I came to a full and complete stop. This cost me $82, a few hours of my time spent in traffic school, and a lot of emotional turmoil. The traffic school detective said there are policemen out there who love to give tickets and will stop you for any little thing–just because they can. That is preed to me–if you aren’t doing anything dangerous or reckless, they shouldn’t nit-pick.

  2. Shellie Says:

    So that’s why… Good point.

  3. Rachelle Says:

    great stuff! I read a ton!


Leave a Reply

